FvF Mixtape #93 - Friends of Friends / Freunde von Freunden (FvF)

FvF Mixtape #93


The Baltimore-based pair, Life On Planets, put together a mixtape for us full of groovy beats and sensitive voices. This mix, that includes three previously unreleased tracks, pulls together some of the recent moods in Disco and Deep House.

Titled “Love is Blind” by its composers, it gives you time to gather your thoughts. As a bit of musical meditation, directing your mood and informing your emotions, it’s perfect to put on while focussing on work or at the gym. Playing it after hours, or while walking through the city, allows you to delve into the deep grooves that it throws up. Let yourself to get lost in its persistent beats and powerful melodies.

The eponymous idea, that Love is Blind, is pervasive in this mix. Life On Planets were also keen to include a feminine side to the mixtape as well. With plenty of female vocals as a contrast to the male partnership’s own productions, the mix offers up two sides to a romance. And despite its eclectic fusion of genres, the end result is a consistent piece of emotional storytelling.


  1. Luminodisco – Understory
  2. Crazy P – Walk Dance Talk Sing (Life on Planets Edit)
  3. Alice Smith – Love Endeavor (Maurice Fulton Remix)
  4. LoneLady – Groove it Out (LoneLady Michigan Dub)
  5. Crew Love – Hella Rigorous (LOP edit)
  6. Freekwency, Cazeaux O.S.L.O – Friend or Freak
  7. Greg Paulus & Tanner Ross – Flying at the Lip
  8. Charolette OC – Hangover (Moodymann Remix)
  9. Akalino – That Guy
  10. Andre Espeut, Juan Laya, Jorge Montiel – It’s Got to be Music (Trujillo Remix)
  11. From P60, Jaidene Veda – Softly (Life on Planets Edit)
  12. Borrowed Identity – You’re Mine
  13. Jona Saucedo – Hold (Joseph Terruel Dub Parrot)
  14. Tennis – Monocraft (PillowTalk Remix)
  15. Crew Love – Smokers Delight (LOP edit)

Check out Life On Planets’ latest release, Curious Palace, is available on the Wolf + Lamb label. You can hear more from them on Soundcloud.
Want some more tunes? Listen to our mixtapes on Freunde von Freunden.